Ford Power Stroke Nation banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello,
Just bought a 2008 F350 Crew cab 8' box,SRW, 3.73 gear with 22,000 miles on it. I am only getting 10mpg. I thought I would be getting better mpg's, What are the specs on a 6.4L. I have on order an S&B Cold Air Intake Kit. Heres what I will be adding soon:
Spartan or H&S Black Max tuner
Cat/DPF delete pipe
Exhaust system
EGR Delete kit
I also thought about changing gears to a 3.55. I don't tow much. My goal is for maximum mpg's with out sacrificing to much performance.(Still being able to give these mustangs and camaros a run for their money). I am new to the diesel world and any ideas would be very helpful.

Thanks

Joe

·
I'm learning
194 Posts
I got about 10-12 stock with 35's and 355's, since its been tuned I get 13-16 hand calc arround town. I have read about people with the same tune, kem 345 and setup as I have claiming 20mpg and it may be possible but I can't stay out of it long enough to see...lol. You are gonna love that 6.4 when you tune it!
Is your truck 2wd or 4x4 you didnt say?

·
Registered
327 Posts
I have done some work on three 6.4's. S&b intakes, 4" or 5" straight piped exhaust and H&S mini maxx, with the hot damn downloads. 2 of the guys do a lot of mixed in town and high way driving said they seen an average of 16 mpg, i have 1 older gentleman that travels back and fourth from ohio to tennesse and swears he sees just over 22 mpg empty, and over 18 with a small trailer and a small garden tractor

·
Registered
327 Posts
o and i have been able to dyno one of these trucks and it put down 586 hp at the wheels with stock suspension and tires.

·
I'm learning
194 Posts
It's a 4x4. Sounds like you are perry happy with yours.
I love mine, It amazes the folks around here...lol, its a small town we don't get out much LOL

I took it to the 1/8 mile track close to here and made 4 passes,
1, 9.22 spinning all 4 tires too much boost off the line