Ford Power Stroke Nation banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
37 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a 2008 6.4 that I am about to install a viper security system and remote start on. This is my first time to do one of these and my question is that I was wondering if the wiring for ignition and all that stuff under the dash is the same as the '05-'07 super duty's. I have a Haynes manual that I am going to use to help me out on finding and connecting wires, however the manual that I have I bought when I had my 2005 superduty. I'm assuming that for the most part the wiring diagrams stayed the same but just wanted to ask incase I'm wrong so I can go again and get a new manual bought before this coming weekend... Thanks in advance

Sent from AutoGuide.com Free App

·
Professional American, guarding our constitution.
9,453 Posts
It's WELL worth your while to take it to an install place and eat the $200 or so for them to do it. Viper's warranty only covers *any* problems if installed by an authorized dealer, and all the crap the new ones offer have *many* problems. The Viper 5901 on my 29k mile 6.4 has been back to the Viper dealer 5 times for various issues. When I went to pick the truck up from them installing it, the alarm wouldn't let the starter get juice. Problem right off the bat, and they allegedly do this all day every day. After that, the remote start didn't work from time to time (once requiring the truck to be towed because again the alarm wouldn't let the truck start - towed and dropped right in front of the installer's garage bay door at 5am - towing paid for by Viper), the valet mode didn't work once, the proximity sensor was f'ed up twice... There's just so much garbage on these newer trucks and how it ties into the factory wiring that to do it on your own is shooting yourself in the foot. It doesn't matter how qualified as an electrician or electronics engineer one might be, the Murphy factor just doesn't make it worthwhile.