Ford Power Stroke Nation banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
New to the forum. Just want to thank members for the wealth of knowledge here. Just put about 1500 miles of heavy towing (10,000lbs) on my pickup after doing the 6.0L trans cooler upgrade. It dropped tranny temps about 30 deg on average and am amazed at how effective and easy this upgrade was. Also fortunate to have a buddy that works at a wrecker and got me one for $75, This site rocks! Thanks again guys.

·
Former Ford Trans Engr.
3,076 Posts
He said he went with a 6.0L cooler. That is a transmission cooler from an F250-F550 with a 6.0L diesel. It replaces the stock cooler out front. It is MUCH more effective than a frame mounted cooler.

·
Exploding the magma
581 Posts
I'm new to this, I apologize. I've got an 04 f250 CCSB with the PSD. I've started to do some towing, and I'd like a supplemental cooler. So was this an extra tranny cooler added on top of his stock one?
You already have the 6.0 cooler. Unless something is very wrong you should have no need for additional cooling

·
Registered
107 Posts
No he has a 7.3 and put a 6.0 cooler on his truck

·
Former Ford Trans Engr.
3,076 Posts
I'm new to this, I apologize. I've got an 04 f250 CCSB with the PSD. I've started to do some towing, and I'd like a supplemental cooler. So was this an extra tranny cooler added on top of his stock one?
You don't need any more transmission cooling.

·
Registered
86 Posts
I havent removed my grill on my 2002, but i sure cant see a tranny cooler there. Looking from the underside, I see a power steering cooler, but no tranny. The only lines to the tranny seem to go into the bottom of the radiator.

am I missing something, or did certain trucks not come with a tranny cooler aside from one side of the radiator?

Are there mounts to put a 6l cooler in there that I cant see?

How does one ID a 6l cooler? The local junkyard has them for 35 bucks, but they are all on a rack, and not labeled.

·