Ford Power Stroke Nation banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
6 months ago I bought a 2006 LCF Ford 185WB, 19,500 GVW, 21Ft. aluminum bed (roll-back) truck. The truck never towed or hauled vehicles and was lightly loaded or empty for most of its 130,000 mi during it's previous 3 years. I'm told that the 4.5 is a 6.0 with 2 less cylinders. Presently, I'm losing coolant, no white smoke or antifreeze in the oil and no visible leaks. Do the 4.5s also have EGR cooler , and head gasket problems?Tons of parts and kits seem to be avaiable for the 6.0 s ,are any made for a 4.5 and by which vendor ? I am new to the powerstroke nation site, and while I've owned a number of Ford F-series trucks (all gas) this is my first diesel. Thanks, I'd appreciate any advice.

·
2Cruel
1,645 Posts
They are very similar in desighn however very diffrent. they have a countershaft in the motor to balance it, Some parts are interchangeable, Yes they do have an egr cooler, but if you arent seeing white smoke i would say you have headgasket issues, and are blowing coolant?

What part of the country are you in?

Travis

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #3