Ford Power Stroke Nation banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Not sure If this is the right place to post this but here we go. I purchased a 2006 f350 6.0 that had catastrophic engine failure and is just not worth fixing. I don't really want to roll the dice on a used engine that I have no background from and wreckers are asking over $5000 for. I also own a 220,000 km 1994 7.3 ID I turbo that runs great but has a lot of rust and is only a regular cab. I feel that the 94 is mechanically very sound but just isn't worth restoring the body. I know I'm going to get a lot of why don't you do a Cummins conversion answers but I want to be different and I also have the 7.3 powertrain at my disposal. Does anyone know of anyone that has tried this type of conversion? I don't really need the 2006 for a towing truck basically just a drive around truck, I drive 2010 6.4 for my daily driver. I wonder if the Engine mounts off of a power stroke 7.3 super duty would work in the 2006 chassis with the 94 idi engine ? Also because it's mechanical it shouldn't be too hard to get the engine running once it's in the truck, just a lot of messing with wires to get gauges working. Any input on this would be appreciated. Long winded first post, thanks for taking the time to read :)

·
Registered
909 Posts
It would be quite the project. Ideally the SD 7.3 plates should work. But the wiring would be rough making the gauges work right

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Wiring would definitely be the biggest hassle. Could do a dash plate and auto meter guages to simplify that part maybe? I paid 2500 for the 2006 and have the idi truck so it wouldn't be huge money on my part to invest. I was thinking if I go through with this project that maybe while the idi is out of the truck to stud the heads install new injectors and get an intake from idi performance to run the factory 6.0 intercooler.

·
Registered
202 Posts