Ford Power Stroke Nation banner

1 - 20 of 54 Posts

·
Registered
24 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey everyone,

So I recently purchased a 2006 F350 6.0 with approximately 154K. I am new to diesels and only know what I have read or from youtube videos so yeah... First day the degas tank cracked and leaked coolant all over my driveway. Purchased a new aluminum Mishimoto tank. Figured I'd also change the radiator hoses to Mishimoto while I was at it and install their coolant filter. While I was doing that I replaced the coolant temp sensor and the intake manifold air temp sensor. Also did the blue spring upgrade. Then flushed the coolant (kinda nasty looking) and put in new 50/50 using Ford Gold and Distilled Water. Put everything back together and the truck seemed to run good.

My issues:
  • AC is not working so not sure what's causing that.
  • took truck on two hour drive relying on only dash temp indicators. Ran good, no apparent issues, no smoke, etc. Just a hot drive w/out AC.
  • after that drive I noticed coolant all over new reservoir. Level was high, above Full for some reason
  • hooked up a bluetooth monitor to OBDII port. Watched temps the next two days during drives around town. EOT was high (220-240's). ECT around 195-200
  • reservoir continued to sizzle and leak and fluctuated in fill level enough to make me crazy. Tested coolant using a tester from AutoZone to make sure I had good mix of coolant vs distilled water.
  • Had to drive home 2 hours so left early in the AM to avoid afternoon Florida heat. EOT climbed to 250 so I pulled off and let it cool down before continuing. Kept speed at 60-65 the rest of the way which kept temp around 245.