Ford Power Stroke Nation banner
1 - 20 of 42 Posts

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Ok guys I'm a fair shade tree mechanic but stumped. Got a 1995 7.3 turbo 5 speed 268k. Started truck drove about 1/2 mile when I started up a slight incline truck started losing power like it was out of fuel. I turned around drove back to house put in 10 gallons while it was still running & continued my trip. It did the exact same thing at the same place. Turned around & it died half way back. It would not start so towed it home.
I had noticed a slight drip underneath on the passenger side at the back of the engine which I now thought must be the lift pump leaking at the weep hole. This would be consistent with my problem.
Changed fuel filter cleaned the bowl & fpr. Blew air thru bowl,supply,return & fuel rail lines to confirm no plugs. Put fuel in bowl & primed .Still no start. Yes I have good batteries! Tach was moving a little , wts light was working & check engine light flashed as I turned key then went out. Pulled the plug on the icp. IHOP had oil to the top plug still Nothing. Ordered new lift pump & when arrived installed. No fuel to bowl while cranking after priming. New lift pump bad out of the box.