Ford Power Stroke Nation banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So first of all I am new to diesels. I bought a 1983 F250 6.9 IDI a couple months ago under the impression that all it needed was a injection pump, I decided to give it a try since it was such a good deal on the truck ($400). So I put an injection pump in it and timed it. Then it wouldn't start so I replaced the starter, batteries, battery cables and fuel filter. Now it turns over fine and it turns over fast enough that it should start up. Instead it just turns and turns. I give it a little shot of starting fluid and it chokes like it wants to start but it won't. I bleed the injectors. Still nothing... Any suggestions?? Thanks.

·
Registered
1,461 Posts
is it getting fuel to the inj.'s? any smoke coming out the exhaust when cranking? temp were your at? have you had the truck plugged in? need more info.

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
is it getting fuel to the inj.'s? any smoke coming out the exhaust when cranking? temp were your at? have you had the truck plugged in? need more info.
When I bled the injectors it was getting fuel to them. I havent checked for any exhaust smoke. I will have to check that one here in a little bit. Im in Indiana and it has been 40-50 degrees F. And yes I have had the block heater plugged in and its warm. Thanks.

·
Registered
1,461 Posts
and your sure you got the timing right? if its getting fuel to the injectors and its plugged in its gotta fire. did you remember the chain and gearset to drive the injection pump? im at a loss if its getting fuel and turning over fast enough to fire it should light.

·
Fixing Broken Stuff
2,078 Posts