Ford Power Stroke Nation banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
130 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Well im a student at a college and was needing a good truck that would get me back and forth to school with good mpg an still be able to use it on the farm and have a nice big truck. Everybody was telling me that the powerstrokes were the way to go geting around 19-23 MPG. Well i went out and bought me one. 1996 f.250 7.3l 5 speed 4x4 ex cab with 4:10 gears with no engin mods what so ever just wheels and tires. And wtf im getting 13 dang miles per gallon. If i would of known that id just kelp my 2003 5.4l!!! Can anyone tell me whats wrong with the truck and what i can do to get some better milage.

·
The Original
7,509 Posts
The 4x4 and 4:10's don't help highway speeds don't help and for sure the new low sulpher diesel doesn't help.

If you drive 55-60 with the 4:10s you could get 17 or so.

·
oil burner
1,136 Posts
check the air filter and take the whole intake tube off n check turbo for shaft play.i get anywhere from 16-23 mpg with the same truck turning 35" tires,i know as soon as the rpms get over 2000 it starts suckin the fuel fast so i would imagine if you have smaller tires and the 4:10 gears mileage would be worst.

·
Registered
130 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Well i just replaced the tires from 36'' bais to 35'' ssr radials thinking that would help but it dident do anythang still geting the same as before and i stay under 2 grand when cruzing on the highway. thought id try a tunner and aftermarket intake and c if that would help any. but for stock i think that it should get better than that though.

·
Registered
421 Posts
What kind of boost numbers are you getting ? Maybe you have a leak and your boost is low giving a low value to the MAP sensor... I gained 1 MPG when I replaced the MAP sensor.. CAT if you have one , could be plugged up ... Intake is also VERY important , and a new down pipe also helps alot

·
Registered
388 Posts