Ford Power Stroke Nation banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
60 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
This is my first time posting here hopefully i can get some help. My brothers 05 Powerstroke 6 speed manual is starting very hard, kills the batterys, runs fine at operating temperature. Just had new injectors installed had the guy who did them for us run tests on them all working fine, new injector harness, glow plugs tested good, ficm tested good. Ive tried to do some research on this is it possible the rough starts are coming from weak batteries?

I

·
0 Posts
This is my first time posting here hopefully i can get some help. My brothers 05 Powerstroke 6 speed manual is starting very hard, kills the batterys, runs fine at operating temperature. Just had new injectors installed had the guy who did them for us run tests on them all working fine, new injector harness, glow plugs tested good, ficm tested good. Ive tried to do some research on this is it possible the rough starts are coming from weak batteries?
It is possible.. What oil is in the truck? Does it help if it's plugged in? Where are you located? Current tempature's cold?

·
Registered
60 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Were running 15w40 rotella, located in spokane washington so now its about 5 degrees, helps alot when its plugged in but still sounds and runs rough until it gets to operating tempertaure pretty fair amount of blue smoke as well

I

·
0 Posts
Were running 15w40 rotella, located in spokane washington so now its about 5 degrees, helps alot when its plugged in but still sounds and runs rough until it gets to operating tempertaure pretty fair amount of blue smoke as well
15W40 is too heavy in 5 degree temps.. A 5W40 or HD 10W30 does wonders for a 6.0 below 40 degree's..

I

·
0 Posts
Also, did you check battery voltage with the truck not running then running?

·
Registered
60 Posts
Discussion Starter #6