Ford Power Stroke Nation banner

Totally New to 6.0 - Needs a Little Help

1K views 9 replies 10 participants last post by  kellyrulzz 
#1 ·
I just (Finally) bought my first Super Duty - 2003 6.0 F250 King Ranch - I have wanted one FOREVER - Finally found a great deal !

Of course as soon as I did - Everyone told me that it will blow up any minute.. because it's the 6.0 - Whatever..

I am NOT a expert on Diesel Trucks - SO any advice is greatly appreciated -
Assume I am totally Green on the Subject ( I really am )

I am considering a Tuner to help Monitor and Help with Fuel Economy -( 1st Tank was 14.5 MPG) I will also be towing a 26' Pontoon Boat this summer - so a good tow set up is also needed. A friend Suggested a Edge Programmer since he has one on his Gas truck - I won't be racing the truck or going crazy.. (The Shelby keeps that market cornered) .. But I would like a good tuner to handle the items listed above..

As Stated I have a 03 F250 6.0 King Ranch with 72K miles -35's on the truck - And a additional Pillar mounted Inst Cluster for Boost and Fuel Pressure (Exh Temp doesn't seem to be hooked up) Someone also deleted the Cat
Otherwise -
I have no idea if anything else was done internally to the motor (Bulletproofing?) or anything else... Anyone have a easy way to tell?

Thanks in Advance for Any Help - Suggestions you can provide

See less See more
#2 ·
As far as tuners for a 6.0l I would go with SCT livewire. Basically a tuner and monitor, I am very happy with it and it seems to be the most referred programmer on this and many other sites.

#3 ·
Sct tuners are the only way to go on these trucks!
Drews custom tunes back road performance
4/5" exhaust
Coolant filter
Use only ford filters (fuel and oil)
5w40 t6 oil
Save up 3k and wait for the problems to start
Egr/oil cooler, head gasket/studs are your weak points I wouldn't mess with it until you start having problem. You will know!! Lol

#5 ·