Wheels and Tires - PowerStrokeNation : Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 09-12-2017, 01:32 PM Thread Starter
Overlord of the Spark

Garage
Wheels and Tires

I'm considering putting new wheels and tires on my 6.7 after the stock tires wear out. I wonder, though, what rims are made to hold up to the weight of this truck. Curb weight on this monster is over 7k pounds. I don't want to swap out rims only to have to buy new ones a year later because I got crappy ones that buckled under the weight.

Also, I wonder what the tread life is on, say, a Nitto Ridge Grappler or Terra Grappler. What kind of aggressive tires can I put on this truck and still get 50K or more miles out of them? It came with Michelin M/S2s. I know those tires are exceptional, as I've been using them for seven or eight years on my old truck. I also understand that an off-road tire will not last the 70-90k miles that the Michelins do. However, I don't want to have to buy a new set of shoes every year either.

Yesterday, upon the stairs,
I saw a man who was not there.
He wasn't there again today.
I wish, I wish he'd go away.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 09-25-2017, 07:23 PM
PSN Newb

Garage
Re: Wheels and Tires

I'm not sure about the issue around truck weight versus rims but I am ready to upgrade the stock wheels and rims on my 17 F350. I have purchased and received 4 Fuel Maverick D538 rims (20"x10" with -12mm offset) and 4 Toyo Open Country M/T's. I also have the 2.5" ReadyLift leveling kit. I'm hoping to get the kit and wheels and tires installed later this week and then an alignment done to finish it off. I got the idea and fitment from a project truck on Stage 3 Motorsports website. These are E load rated tires.

Stage 3's 2017 F250 6.7L Super Duty Project Truck

As far as mileage I believe mud tires are notorious for only lasting 40-50K....depends on driving of course and conditions.

PD