cummins swap or build 6.0? - PowerStrokeNation : Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 4 (permalink) Old 12-23-2012, 04:37 AM Thread Starter
PSN Local

cummins swap or build 6.0?

hey guys i recently bought my 04 ford f250 with only 80k miles, i thought i may have bought something decent that would last a while without needing too much work anytime soon, but as always i got lied too about this truck, i think it needs headgaskets deff a new egr cooler and the icp harness is full of oil, so my question is, is it worth doing the cummins swap? i was going to do a 12v and keep the auto trans ive looked up cost versus doing a complete solutions package on the 6.0 im torn between the 2 because id like to keep it with the v8 to keep it factory instead of making everything work even though people have gotten these things to be like factory with the cummins engines. i want your guys opinions on what you would do, i would do all the work btw plus im a tech at international so i know these engines in and out. also for people that have done the swap whats your input on this topic plus how much was it really to do the swap?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 4 (permalink) Old 12-27-2012, 09:18 PM
PSN Local

Re: cummins swap or build 6.0?

I'd only do it for a commonrail, I'm personally not in to the 12v. If you can swing 20k at it go for it. I have 15k in mine after recovering 5k from the sales of the parts from my truck. Being a tech I'd say go for it, If you had to pay someone to do it just fix what you have.

Get ready for a lot of work, but if you are like me you won't mind it.

If you delete the 6.0 and stud it, it will probably do everything you want though. I may sound like I'm wavering even though I have no regrets about mine, I love it. It's just a lot of time and money, if you don't have both don't do it.

Early '99, 7.3/4R to Cummins 6.7/ZF6 CONVERSION, AIR LOCKERS, 4:11, 35", '05 HARLEY FRONT , TRAIL READY W/WARN.