Who here gets higher MPG's and what is your secret? - PowerStrokeNation : Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 109 (permalink) Old 04-01-2008, 12:37 PM Thread Starter

Who here gets higher MPG's and what is your secret?

I'm a newbie who just bought his first 7.3 yesterday. I'm wondering what some of your tricks are for getting the most MPG's out of your truck.

What are some of the inexpensive ways to start with?

And what are some of the other more expensive ways to improve MPG?

If this has been discussed 10 billion times already, I apologize.

John
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 109 (permalink) Old 04-01-2008, 02:09 PM
PSN Local

Re: Who here gets higher MPG's and what is your secret?

Dave is probably going to be the most help but it all depend on how much you really want to get the economy and how much you want to sacrify for it. DAve is getting about 24-26 mpg but he has a 4"/6" drop plus a rubber airdam and a fastback along with being 2wd 6 speed and having a 3.08 final drive. Some inexpensive tricks is fill the tires to max pressure that is posted on the side wall, don't accel to fast, be smooth, If you are a stick dont understimate the power of coasting. Driving style has to do a lot on diesel engines. Then there are the small stuff like 203 THermostat. Dave will probably be able to give you more details

99.5 F250 2wd 6Speed: DP Tuner, Straight Pipe, DIY Tymar, 203 Thermostat. Spec Focus Hauler!!

23.5 MPG (HIGHWAY)
17.5 MPG (City)
post #3 of 109 (permalink) Old 04-01-2008, 02:22 PM
OBS junkie