Why has no one discussed saving weight? - PowerStrokeNation : Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 29 (permalink) Old 08-20-2008, 12:58 AM Thread Starter
PSN Local

Why has no one discussed saving weight?

Alright, we've beaten aerodynamics to death, and debated types of fuels and common upgrade misconceptions. The one thing I don't hear here is weight savings. I know that our trucks are meant to pull trailers and carry heavy objects so it seems like a joke trying to make our trucks lighter, but weight is one of the spiral effects, if you can save weight, you can reduce the rate of other components like suspension and brakes and engine power. For starters lets look at composite body panels (I was a materials engineer so I'll use the proper term instead of debating fiberglass vs carbon fiber and the likes). I know hard core off roaders have them made to reduce damage, and racers use them for weight savings. A one piece lift of front end would probably save around ~200 lbs if you combined the hood, grill, and fenders and bumper (even more for you Dave with your aero mods), plus it would allow for easier access to the engine. A composite skinned and aluminum framed bed would save a couple hundred, composite door would do the like and eliminate the corrosion problems along the sills. These parts have little structural strength, or atleast none that requires steel (and all in all a properly formed carbon fiber shape has pound for pound much more strength than steel so don't try to talk about 'flimsy plastics'). Suspension is next, flex-a-form leaf springs weigh less than half what current steel ones weigh (but remember what I said about spiral effect, if the truck weighs less then the suspension can be reduced). Sway bars and trac bars are not to far off. Composite drive shafts reduce rotational mass, somebody on the othersite did it, got it from this place: http://www.acpt.com/driveshaft/driveshafts.html, cermic brake rotors aren