Need help evaluating a heavy towing 7.3 setup. - PowerStrokeNation : Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 23 (permalink) Old 01-29-2012, 05:36 PM Thread Starter
PSN Newb

Need help evaluating a heavy towing 7.3 setup.

Hey PSN, Im a newb... However, Ive got a 2000 2 wheel drive crewcab dually that I put 285000 miles on in 3.5 years. I got to know this truck really well. I hauled cars with it in the midwest and primarily from Philly to Joplin and Greenbay to Dallas. This truck saw an average load of 24k to 30k daily. The odometer says 436763! Same injectors, 2nd trans, same rear. Needless to say she made alot of money and Im attached. Now Its time to rebuild. Ill tell you how I got those miles out her later. Im going GTP38RR, 4"intake, crossover oil line, rebuilt long block with high temp coating on pistons and valves, TE hpop (single pump), 4" down 5" out the butt, new electric lift pump, cool mist water meth kit, PHP 6 program chip, aftermarket condenser (undecided yet), Stage 1 single shot sticks, Tuned down IDM, rebuilt trans with deep well pan, and considering changing to a 3.73 from a 4.10. Can you guys chime in and tell me if this makes sense to you. Thanx.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 23 (permalink) Old 01-30-2012, 02:18 AM
MPG Moderator

Re: Need help evaluating a heavy towing 7.3 setup.

It'll make more power and drink more fuel unless you slow down a lot.

2000 F-350 SC 4x2 6 speed
3.08 gears Gear Vendor Overdrive
Slammed 4"
Rugged Air Dam
315,000 miles
post #3 of 23 (permalink) Old 01-30-2012, 12:46 PM Thread Starter
PSN Newb

Well, wut should I change? Nothings set in stone. Im aiming for the 13mpg mark.

post #4 of 23 (permalink) Old 01-30-2012, 03:12 PM
MPG Moderator

Since you are in the market for a high-dollar rebuild, I have some suggestions that might save some $$$ and improved fuel mileage.

Unless you saw some very high EGTs before, Iíd forget the big exhaust.