Anybody doing SVO ??? - PowerStrokeNation : Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 4 (permalink) Old 06-12-2008, 07:10 PM Thread Starter
PSN Newb

Anybody doing SVO ???

Hi all, I am New to the diesel world and am very intruiged by the thought of running Straight Vegtable Oil. I have been trying to read all I can and was wondering if anybody out there is actually using it as opposed to trying to sell it. I drive 175 miles (3 hours) one way to work so I think I have the distance covered to make it worth my while.
I had read on a forum/website where somebody built his own system and had the schematic with part #s and all parts needed. Cant find it now to save my life... I have a source for some Used Veg oil, and probably could find more. Even If I could get 20 gal a week (since I only work 9-10 days a month) That would be at least free fuel to and from work.

Any help would be great
Thanks in advance

Jim Haberkorn
2002 F-250 XL 7.3
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 4 (permalink) Old 06-13-2008, 05:17 AM
Cute and cuddly boys!

Send a message via Yahoo to mazdaparts
Re: Anybody doing SVO ???

I would check into vegistroke.com or frybrid.com. From the research I have done. It is better for your motor if you use a 2 tank system. One that switches automatically and one that purges easily would be the best. When you mix (diesel and WVO) it will work for a while, but there aren't that many people with a lot of miles to know the long term effects. From what I have learned if you mix you better be doing oil analysis every oil change. The WVO can make its way into your oil and polymerize in the crankcase. I'm not smart enough to know exactly why that is bad, but I assume it is similar to sludging up and defeating the main purpose of your oil.