Early 99 with no low end torque. - PowerStrokeNation : Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 15 (permalink) Old 11-18-2017, 12:31 PM Thread Starter
PSN Newb

Early 99 with no low end torque.

OK guys so I have been fighting this truck for the last two years and I have replaced injectors high-pressure oil pump injection control prefer sensor injection pressure regulator fuel pressure regulator Exhaust back pressure sensor and tube exhaust manifolds full 4 inch exhaust New turbo Garrett with billet wheel and mechanical wastegate New up pipes with donuts has a PHP hydra chip also has brand new air filter 6637 fresh 10W-30 Motorcraft diesel oil since it?s becoming cold in winter here in Michigan has a new fuel filter. For some reason it has no power until around 2600 rpm then the boost is around 8psi or so and climbs rather quick but once in over drive and when approaching a hill I?ll push the pedal and high pressure oil will rise no speed gain then it will downshift and go this all happens at 60mph when it starts losing speed going up hill. This is all happening on the 80hp setting, if truck is in stock it constantly downshifts even on flat ground, fuel pressure is at 72psi and barley drops under a load. So my question is I have no flashing on my overdrive light can this still be torque converter or trans related. Also while watching the torque converter on a monitor locked it will read 0.6rpm then jump to 32.0rpm then to 3.3rpm then to 60rpm is this normal? Or what could be the issue?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 15 (permalink) Old 11-18-2017, 01:01 PM

Re: Early 99 with no low end torque.

Sounds like a boost leak. Google boost leak tester 7.3. They are cheap to build.

01 f-250, Standard
Rev tech 4" lift, 37" military wrangler Mt tires
KC diy 66, Full force 160/100 and custom tunes from PHP
Banks intercooler and full 4" exhaust, Diy S&B intake
Diy quad feed, Hydra, Isspro boost, pyro, and fuel pressure