E4OD rebuild ? - PowerStrokeNation : Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 4 (permalink) Old 12-20-2016, 12:15 AM Thread Starter
PSN Newb

E4OD rebuild ?

I bought a stock 1996 7.3 4x4 this year. It's not my daily driver and don't plan on working it much just pull the fishing boat around a few times a year other than that just some long hunting trips. All I plan to do for now is; gauges, intake, 4" turbo back, tunes, wicked wheel, that's about it.
It started shifting hard and is throwing a P-1728 code. I'm expecting that I'll be rebuilding the tranny. Based on how I drive (nice and easy) what upgrades are necessary in the rebuild and what is not or just get a Ford reman.

I'm a googler mechanic! If your going to ask me a technical question I'll need a day to look up a smart answer.

Thanks for your input

Eric
1996 Ford F-250 7.3L 4x4
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 4 (permalink) Old 12-20-2016, 01:20 AM
Native Texan

Garage
Re: E4OD rebuild ?

So there was just some discussion ion this recently on here heres the link. https://www.powerstrokenation.com/for...afts-such.html

Mostly it depends on what u want to do with her. But there are some upgrades like the planetary's(light weight alum 4 pinion or robust steel 6 pinions hummm though choice there) and few other things that were discussed that I would not skip.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Upgrades:
|Bellowed UpPipes|160CC Injectors|Adrenaline HPOP|Rebuilt Turbo 360 Bearing|Custom E-Fuel|Manual to Auto Conversion
|Delete Pedestal|3" Down Pipe 4" Exhaust|Dual Tensioner and Belt|Stainless Steel HPX Crossover|Custom Banks InterCooler
|42 Gal Rear Tank 35 Gal Front Tank |DP Infinity Tuner
post #3 of 4 (permalink) Old 12-20-2016, 03:28 AM Thread Starter
PSN Newb