97 7.3 e4od shifting problem??!? - PowerStrokeNation : Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 02-03-2016, 05:05 AM Thread Starter
PSN Newb

97 7.3 e4od shifting problem??!?

I have a 97 F350 cab n chassis 2wd dually 7.3 and when I got it 15 months ago it would drive and shift correctly until warmed up...let me be more detailed... When it's cold 20 degrees out I can drive 5 blocks and get on highway and it won't lock converter. After it warms up, it won't shift out of first gear, unless you redline engine and let off throttle and then it will most likely shift, and it seams to skip third and likes to keep the converter locked over 30mph. The OD light doesn't flash. I changed fluid and filter, completely and still the same. So I assumed it was third gear slipping when warmed but.
I've been driving it everyday for 12 months manually shifting it 1st to 2nd in town and drive on highway waiting for it to crap out and I would replace it.... But the fluid was good when I changed it the first time and looks new still today. So I decided it must be electronic so I cleaned the connection to the seloniod pack and that hasn't helped,
My speedometer works fine but does that mean the sensor is good to tell tranny to shift? I'm seeing a lot of people fixing shift problem with TRS going bad. But it's weird shift fine when cold and after warm it won't automatically shift from first so I manually shift to second then back to drive, it sometimes stays in 3rd and sometimes skips it. When cold in 3rd gear I can full throttle it with chip setting on high and it don't slip?? I put roughly 60miles a day on it and getting tired of manually shifting a automatic.
Maybe step one is to replace the TRS?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 02-03-2016, 11:32 AM
PSN Local

Re: 97 7.3 e4od shifting problem??!?

do u have led tail light bulbs?
post #3 of 8 (permalink) Old 02-03-2016, 07:46 PM Thread Starter
PSN Newb