lost overdrive, help - PowerStrokeNation : Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old 03-17-2015, 09:57 AM Thread Starter
Six Point Slow

lost overdrive, help

I'm not very good with automatic transmissions. I was driving my 2002 f250 down a local road at 40mph when it was getting ready to shift to O/D. It started whining and never made it to O/D. I got on the highway hoping it would go in to O/D but never did. I hooked up my Prolink IQ to see if I had any trans codes, there were none. The only thing I did notice is that the Prolink was saying my O/D disable button was depressed. I know the shifter button can short at the wires with all the up and down on shifter. If I hold the button for a long time the light will go on if I play with the button sometimes the light goes on, sometimes it just goes on. Is my transmission F'd in the A or could it be the O/D button on the shifter. Ant help would be great, thanks

2004 F250 4x4 super cab. 8" lift on 37s. too much engine work to list.
2002 F250 4x4 reg cab. stock
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 10 (permalink) Old 03-18-2015, 01:36 AM
Former Ford Trans Engr.

Re: lost overdrive, help

Fix the problem with the button before condemning the transmission.

Mark
Former Ford Automatic Transmission Engineer

“The good thing about science is that it's true whether or not you believe in it.” ― Neil deGrasse Tyson
post #3 of 10 (permalink) Old 03-18-2015, 11:45 AM Thread Starter
Six Point Slow

The light started flashing yesterday so I was able to pull codes. The code was a p0783 so I'm guessing that trans is on its way out. It started slipping in 2nd also. Next trans is getting a deep pan and a large cooler to prevent this again

post #4 of 10 (permalink) Old 03-18-2015, 01:55 PM
Former Ford Trans Engr.

all a deep pan will do is drain your wallet faster. I don't know of anything that a deeper pan does to help the transmission.