cracked flexplate - PowerStrokeNation : Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 09-28-2009, 12:51 PM Thread Starter
PSN Newb

cracked flexplate

Hi All; I'm new to thisforum. I recently purchased a 99 F350 dually w/121,000 miles for $9500. It's a black SC & is so clean there isn't even a swirl mark in the paint. It was pretty noisy when I first picked it up, so I changed the oil to Royal Purple synthetic & added Power Service to the fuel. It has quieted down a lot but the dealer told Me that when they flushed the trans they found the flexplate is cracked. I took it elsewhere for a second opinion(don't really trust dealers) & was told this is a common occurence with the 7.3 diesels. I bought this truck to tow a 5th wheel when I retire in a few years, & I would like someone to tell Me if I need to go with an aftermarket replacment or will the original hold up ok. The truck has a 4" turbo back with a muffler, and was told by the dealer it also has a performance chip(no idea which one). I'm not a hotrodder anymore but I love the shove in the back when you step on it. Any help would be appreciated.

thanks AL
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 09-28-2009, 06:04 PM
oilfield trash

Re: cracked flexplate

when mine cracked, i decided to drop the coin, and got the ats flexplate. that is the way i would do it again.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
97 F350 cc lb 2wd 4" diy exhaust, diy intake, bully dog 6pos, ranch hand front and back
post #3 of 8 (permalink) Old 09-28-2009, 07:55 PM
PSN Local

What is the flexplate?

2000 F250 Lariat S/C SB 4X4 Off-Road
7.3L PSD
2005 Cedar Creek 30RLBS
PullRite Superglide Hitch
Firestone Ride-Rite Airbags and Dual Commander II
ATS turbo housing
AFE Stage 2 intake with PG7 filter and sock.
DP Tuner 40tow, 80 econ, 100 Race
BTS transmission April 09
Magnaflow 4" turbo back exhaust