E4OD 2wd to 4wd, looking at divorced t-case options - PowerStrokeNation : Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 3 (permalink) Old 02-24-2015, 06:41 PM Thread Starter
First time Diesel owner

Lightbulb E4OD 2wd to 4wd, looking at divorced t-case options

97 2wd F350 7.3, crew cab dually. I'm slowly wrapping my mind around converting it to 4wd using a dually F350 D60 front axle. I'm no stranger to axle swaps or building custom suspensions. What I am new to is the divorced t-case idea. I know to make a 2wd E4OD capable of being mated to a t-case one needs to swap to a 4x4 tail shaft. I'd like to avoid that, as my tranny was just rebuilt a few thousand miles ago by the previous owner with many goodies to constantly tow 26k lbs. Anyways, I'm entertaining the idea of a divorced t-case so I can leave the tranny alone. What options are there, strong enough to handle the diesel torque and offer a decent 2.0:1 or better 4LO ratio?

I'm just brainstorming at the moment. This swap probably won't happen within the next year even, if at all.

Proud owner of 1997 F350 CCLB dually 7.3L....this is my first diesel and I can't figure out where the spark plugs go!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 3 (permalink) Old 02-25-2015, 03:14 PM
PSN Local

Re: E4OD 2wd to 4wd, looking at divorced t-case options

Quote:
Originally Posted by OldMan97F350 View Post