transmission started slipping - PowerStrokeNation : Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 07-11-2014, 06:30 PM Thread Starter
PSN Newb

transmission started slipping

I have a 2002 F250 7.3 powerstroke diesel automatic 4x4. I've had it for over a year. The previous owner was my father, therefore I know it was taken care of. It has 116k miles on it. I drove it on a vacation to Florida (appox 5 hour trip). On the way back I noticed my water temperature needle was somewhat higher than normal and pulled into a gas station. My anti-freeze was a little below the minimum and I added some. I noticed a skinny trail of fluid that started about 15 ft behind my truck and led to a tiny drain hole on the transmission, I assume (I'm a carpenter, not a mechanic). I checked the fluid and it was normal. This was in April. Last week, I was on the interstate for about 35 miles and noticed the water temperature climbing above normal. The transmission temp gage has always been normal. After I parked it, killed some time and came back to it, I noticed it slipped in reverse and remained parked. I checked the transmission fluid and after adding one quart it was normal. I was able to drive it home but now it is parked until I can figure this out. Also, I have a buzzing relay near the right of the gas pedal that has something to do with my brake lights and turn signals. I don't feel like that has anything to do with the transmission but felt I should give all the info possible. Please Help!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 07-13-2014, 04:16 PM Thread Starter
PSN Newb

Re: transmission started slipping