What fluids to use for 6.0L - PowerStrokeNation : Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 4 (permalink) Old 10-18-2012, 04:33 PM Thread Starter
PSN Newb

What fluids to use for 6.0L

I'm new to diesels. I recently bought a 2004 f-250 6.0l with 200,000 miles. I want to change out most main fluids and filters because I don't now the maintanence history on it. What engine oil, oil filter, fuel filter, water Seperater, transmission oil, trans filter is recommended?
Thanks!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 4 (permalink) Old 10-21-2012, 08:45 AM
PSN Local

Re: What fluids to use for 6.0L

Pretty new to this myself, but I've been told to run only motorcraft/racor filters (oil, fuel, air). Racor makes the filters and Ford puts Motorcraft on the box. As far as motor oil, most people say run a 5W40 synthetic but I'm sure there's a million different opinions on that subject. I'm not sure about trans. fluid, you'd have to ask someone or do a search on this site. There are some really helpful people on here and a ton of helpful threads. Also, the 6.0 are very sensitive to lack of maintenance so make sure you are changing fluids religiously. Good luck.

2006 F-250 CCSB A work in progress.....Scanguage II, Zoodad, High Idle Mod., Studded, Deleted
post #3 of 4 (permalink) Old 10-25-2012, 06:32 PM
More Power Tim