Oil sample need input - PowerStrokeNation : Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 07-06-2011, 05:28 PM Thread Starter
Beef

Oil sample need input

Any experiences w/ the 6.4?
How worried should I be about the fuel level?
Running the 5-40 Rotella synthetic.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg blkstone.jpg (322.3 KB, 25 views)

"New" 05 no payment, all original 305k and runs like a champ
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 5 (permalink) Old 07-10-2011, 05:23 PM
Headwind Magnet

Re: Oil sample need input

Quote:
Originally Posted by powerlifter405 View Post
Any experiences w/ the 6.4?
How worried should I be about the fuel level?
Running the 5-40 Rotella synthetic.
I'm no expert, but here's my thoughts/questions on your report.

How long have you been running Rot 5w-40? If you just switched to it within the last oci or two, that can cause your wear metals to briefly spike; they will settle down. If you have been running it a while then you should keep an eye on those lead numbers.

The oil is maintaining its viscosity nicely, which is what you should expect from synthetic oil. After all, the real reason for synthetic (IMHO) is extending oci or better cold starts.

the additive package for Rotella is light on preservative (moly) and detergent (potassium). If you've been running Rot for a while, I would consider switching to an oil with a more robust additive package. Schaeffers and DELO have two of the best additive packages. Give the new oil a change or two and see what happens to that lead number.

Given the fuel in the sample, I would not extend the oci for now. Need to keep an eye on that and an extended oci could allow more fuel in and reduce viscosity.

Hopefully, a real expert in this area will chime in and provide some more input.

Best,
Jim

2002 F-350 SC/SB/SRW 4X4 auto- Tymar intake, AIH delete, Swamps injectors, Swamps IDM, Dieselsite Coolant Filter,
Bilsteins with a stock ride height.