Turbo question - PowerStrokeNation : Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old 04-13-2010, 08:30 AM Thread Starter

Question Turbo question

Hi everyone,

I'm a newbie, and have very newbie questions.

I have a pedestal leak and I'm going to fix it soon. Since I'm going in there I figured why not replace the downpipe with a good free flowing one, do my exhaust system, and kill multiple birds with one stone.

I was thinking of going to an 1.0 A/R housing since I was going to have the turbo out. I was wondering if I need to have a chip, or programmer for it with that housing??

Is an edge evolution programmer a good device? Eventually I want to fab mounts and pipe for a 99 intercooler.

Thanks
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 10 (permalink) Old 04-13-2010, 12:10 PM
Catfish Mafia

Send a message via Yahoo to li'l tugger
Re: Turbo question

the downpipe on an obs truck is a PITA. it took some firewall banging to get mine on along with a bunch of leverage and persuasion. it did make a huge difference though! are you going to keep stock injectors? what other upgrades are you planning on? i would think about all that before changing your turbo housing. before you purchase an edge, search the forum on ts style chips. you can get more power and safer tunes from a custom chip than you can with an edge. do you have gauges yet? i would at least get a boost and pyro before you get any kind of tunes!

early 99 cc 4X4.. 4" exhaust, cushtom tunes, DI hybrids, DI tranny, GQSSB turbo and 3" plenums from WOP,

13.94 @ 96.9mph.. on stock turbo
post #3 of 10 (permalink) Old 04-13-2010, 12:28 PM
PSN Newb

i do not recommend the Edge man, far as i am concerned, they are the worst tuner ever. but thats my opinion. before i knew better i bought one. i went to SCT i now use my evolution as a monitor and nothing more...

i love lift laws...and police...and equipment violations!!

post #4 of 10 (permalink) Old 04-13-2010, 01:10 PM