Just bought a truck -- no start, no smoke - PowerStrokeNation : Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 27 (permalink) Old 03-16-2010, 10:19 PM Thread Starter
PSN Newb

Just bought a truck -- no start, no smoke

Hello, I am new to diesels but not to diagnostics or mechanical work. I just bought a 95 5sp 4x4. I got it cheap because it was only running on 6 cylinders and drove it 80 miles to where it is stored now.

The common injector power wire was loose in the drivers side rear connector which explains why it was running on 6. I then (as preventative maintence)replaced the batteries, cleaned battery connectors, replaced glow plugs, UVCH's, and gaskets as well as replaced the offending connector.

Now the truck will not start at all --> cranks, tach moves, no smoke, 60 lbs of fuel pressure at the test port.

I checked the resistance across each injector (at the valve cover connectors) and they are all within 0.1 ohms (about 2.7). I also checked the resistance of the glow plugs through the connectors and they were all about 0.8 ohms. I also double checked to make sure I didn't bump anything.

My question is how do you guys check for injector pulse? I normally would use a noid light or LED logic probe (on a normal gas engine)but with 100V signaling the injectors this would not be appropriate.

I would also like some input on a good scan tool to buy for this application. I do have alot of experience with the OTC Genisys, NGS, Snap-on red brick and SOLUS.

And of course some helpful hints and suggestions for dianosis would be appreciated as well.

Thank you, first time poster long time lurker.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 27 (permalink) Old 03-16-2010, 10:42 PM
JFURNER77

Re: Just bought a truck -- no start, no smoke

You need to see if the IDM relay is power on, or if it is grounding out. If there is shorts in main engine harness, PCM will shut off IDM relay and no power to IDM, no pulse to injector soilenoids.