New to me 7.3 concerns? - PowerStrokeNation : Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 2 (permalink) Old 03-25-2018, 01:35 AM Thread Starter
PSN Newb

New to me 7.3 concerns?

So I just got a 97 ECSB 5 Speed 7.3 4x4 f250. Guy put a king pin Dana 60 up front wich I love. Truck runs pretty good. It's my first diesel, I've owned 4 tenth gen f150s and countless other gas fords. I am a mechanic, just so ya know, but don't really work on diesels. So anyway he said has a stage 2 clutch. Didn't say what brand. But the trans is loud like getting on and letting off the throttle. And loud cruising in 5th. It needs a second gear synchro btw, but u don't use first so I don't notice unless I'm on a good hill. Also it has a electric fuel pump and a ts 6 position. It seems a little knocky at idle sometimes. I know it's a 7.3 but sometimes it seems louder then it should. Again this is where my diesel inexperience kinda kicks in. But we all start somewhere. Also he put a blow by hose , instead of a pcv I guess if they had them, down off the valve cover, it smokes a little but wich I know is normal, but there's oil under the truck, covered. Wich hey trucks rust free in nj haha so I don't mind, but it's a mess. I think I'm gonna put a longer hose down. I don't see any actual oil leaks but hardto say yet. Right now if oil does come out from the blow by, it covers the driver side motor. Wich it is , and makes it all the way to the t case. So lastly my brakes barley work when I am backing up. Idkbif im just not thinking of something but it's as if I have no booster. Pulled out of a spot and was like what the heck.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 2 (permalink) Old 03-30-2018, 02:19 AM
PSN Veteran

Re: New to me 7.3 concerns?

Welcome to PSN Mikefrfd,