7.3 piston gap - PowerStrokeNation : Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
 1Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 20 (permalink) Old 03-22-2018, 10:16 PM Thread Starter
PSN Newb

7.3 piston gap

So I have a 95 7.3 with 230,000 miles. I have the motor tore apart to rebuild it and there is a sizable gap at the top of the piston and cylinder wall, I'm relatively new to diesel and I'm not sure if it's supposed to be this way or not. Kt performance offers rebuild just with stock pistons and kits with pistons up to .003 over stock and I don't know if I should go with a stock size or something bigger. Any advice is appreciated.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 20180321_184413_1521753304674.jpg (9.5 KB, 28 views)
File Type: jpg 20180321_184341_1521753374461.jpg (11.4 KB, 28 views)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 20 (permalink) Old 03-22-2018, 11:16 PM
Master BS'er

Re: 7.3 piston gap

So you're gonna have to take the piston out and put a ring in there all by itself and measure the end gap at the top of the bore. Compare to spec. No telling what the end gap is supposed to be but .003 is pretty typical for clearance.

Then do the same thing at the bottom of the bore. compare the two and see how badly it's tapered. That's a quick and dirty way to tell ballpark of it needs bored or not. Can't just install oversized because it won't be worn at the bottom of the cylinder like it is at the top.

Brother James

Ps...Im pretty frickin awesome!
post #3 of 20 (permalink) Old 03-22-2018, 11:20 PM
Master BS'er

Looks like spec for the 7.3 is actually .004 - .006 clearance

Brother James

post #4 of 20 (permalink) Old 03-22-2018, 11:29 PM
Master BS'er

Or easier yet, just put a ring about an inch down in the bore, and measure the gap with a feeler gauge. If the gap is greater than .024 the cylinders must be bored oversized.

Edit: those are rough measurements. End gap is not the best way to measure diameter, but it'll tell ya what you need to know.