Ford Power Stroke Nation banner

97 OBS low power at WOT

68K views 271 replies 24 participants last post by  Airstreamer67 
#1 ·
Hey all, my 97 is completely stock shy of a full exhaust 3 inch down pipe and 5 inch out the back no cat no muffler and a clean new filter and A BRAND NEW TURBO. I bought the truck as she sits with 100550 miles on and clean as a whistle. I'm a technician and I have a snap on Solus Ultra so I can monitor everything the truck sees. My complaint is the truck accelerates normal as long I stay no more than about 1/4 throttle if I go WOT the truck drops gears as it should and the turbo screams but I go no where. Now I know everyone will just to trans shifting but this isn't the problem as the rims don't rise, they rise initially when I downshift but even in direct drive my rpms rise slowly as the truck slowly accelerates. Now I have no faults at all, except for P1111 for system pass.
I have verified correct operation of the EBPV and it moves free
I measured boost at the map sensor and had a max reading of 8psi WOT
I then under WOT manually applied vacuum to the map sensor and the the truck made no additional power, shook a bit and made no smoke.
The truck has never smoked any color.
As I said before this is a brand new turbo so there is no play in the wheels

So here's my questions:
What readings should I see from the map under acceleration
What should I see from EBPV
If the ebpv tube is clogged will this cause faults?
What should my fuel pressure be under wot, maintain 50-60psi?

I have no soot build up anywhere its clean as a whistle under there but If I were to smoke the intake system where would be a good place to do so? Straight in the intake hose?

Any other ideas?

Thank you all.

See less See more
#2 ·