95 F350 CCLB dies in seconds after start - PowerStrokeNation : Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 13 (permalink) Old 10-09-2012, 12:53 PM Thread Starter
TNR
PSN Newb

95 F350 CCLB dies in seconds after start

I'm new to Powerstrokes and pretty much learning as I go. So far I've been able to fix most of the issues I've met by myself but this latest one is getting the better of me and I'm in a point where I'd appreciate any help you guys might be able to give me...

The thing is my truck currently starts just fine and settles on the low idle almost immediately after starting BUT after 3s - 4s it dies abruptly. It does it even if I try to prevent it by hitting the throttle... After letting it sit for about 30s to reset the GP system, the second try takes ages while the starter spins the motor and after about 5s - 10s it starts (if my batteries have enough juice in them) and struggles for a while before settling into a steady low idle. Second start won't choke, so if I get there, I'm good to go. Also it'll start just fine within hours of driving it but after work it might give me some trouble... The next day it's the same issue all over again even if I use my diesel fueled engine heater to warm the engine before heading out.

So far I've replaced the starter with a new high torque starter, installed new ZD-11 GPs as well as installed new air and fuel filters. I've tested the GPR with a multimeter and it seems to be working properly but I might replace it with the Stancor unit nevertheless. Next I've planned to take out the EBPV assembly and check if it's clogged and clean it if necessary. After that I'm kinda out of ideas of what to look for if EBPV isn't responsible of choking the engine...