cooling problem need help - PowerStrokeNation : Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old 11-08-2011, 08:57 PM Thread Starter
PSN Newb

cooling problem need help

this is my first time posting here and new to diesels just purchased a 95 f350 powerstroke obviouosly.

so my problem is i thought my truck was running hot but my gauge would never move also the fan runs the second i start the truck. so i decided to give the thermostat a shot. and i did and it changed nothing. so just to fix the gauge and make sure it was acually running hot i took a temp sending unit out of my 97 powerstroke parts truck and that fixed the gauge problem and sure enough its running hot. i tryed squeezing the top radiator hose and im almost positive theres nothing running through it. the water pump is brand new on the truck and the heat works perfectly inside. so if anyone can chime in and tell me what to try or replace id appreciate it thank you
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 11 (permalink) Old 11-08-2011, 09:35 PM
matt

Re: cooling problem need help

did you check the amount of erosion on the front cover when you replaced the pump? If there is bad erosion the pump will cavitate.

4'' exhaust, egr delete, upgraded oil cooler, arp studs,50mm BOV, volant CAI, 66/73/.91 turbo, 205/100 injectors, crossover fuel line, airdog II, sct by TSD & ID, high idle mod, nitrous express with .092 jet, 26 GPH water/meth, ats stage 3 tranny, king Ranch front and rear captins chairs, and of course kicker sound system
post #3 of 11 (permalink) Old 11-08-2011, 09:48 PM Thread Starter
PSN Newb

the problem is i didnt replace the pump the previous owner did right before i bought it a few months ago. it seems to be installed correctly no leaks new bolts gasket but you never know and i really didnt want to take it off unless i had to

post #4 of 11 (permalink) Old 11-08-2011, 10:12 PM
PSN Veteran