where can you find a PTO for a zf 5 speed? - PowerStrokeNation : Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 13 (permalink) Old 10-21-2011, 01:10 AM Thread Starter
PSN Veteran

where can you find a PTO for a zf 5 speed?

hey guys I been hunting for a PTO or even just a pto gear for a zf 5 speed diesel. Any tips or sugestions are very apriciated.
thanks,
jimmy
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 13 (permalink) Old 12-07-2011, 05:43 PM
PSN Local

Re: where can you find a PTO for a zf 5 speed?

They're around. I have a PTO on one of my ZF5's. Don't know where you'd get a new one though.

1997 F350 CCLB Dually XLT
1986 Bronco 6.9 Turbo XLT
Powertrain engineer by trade have worked for three OEM's.
post #3 of 13 (permalink) Old 12-07-2011, 06:45 PM
STILL LEARNING

Any dump,tow, hydraulic company can get them.

Just google Power take off

Chelsea& Muncie are the big names and both make 6 bolt PTOs

Looking for Blue 40-20-40 seat for OBS. PM me if any known

post #4 of 13 (permalink) Old 12-15-2011, 08:49 PM Thread Starter
PSN Veteran

86turbodsl I PMed you
post #5 of 13 (permalink) Old 03-13-2015, 08:52 PM
PSN Newb

Hey guys, I'm full of PTO questions and I finally had a chance to crawl under my trucks to check things out.

I have a '93 F-Superduty (F450) 2WD 460 gas engine, ZF5 transmission w/brake and a Chelsea pto driving a hydraulic pump mounted about a foot & a half back via shaft with 2 u-joints.

I want to swap this pto/pump and dump bed onto my '95 F350 7.3L Powerstroke, ZF5 4WD. The complete info from the ID tags is below.

1: Will this swap work. Does that PTO work on my new trany?
2: Is there a hydraulic pump I can mount directly to this PTO? It looks like the transfer case on my new truck may be in the way of mounting the hydraulic pump where it was on the old 2wd F450.
3: Can the PTO mount on either side of the ZF5? or is it made specific for one side.

Thanks guys!!!