low oil pressure on 96 psd - PowerStrokeNation : Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 13 (permalink) Old 04-17-2011, 09:31 AM Thread Starter
PSN Newb

low oil pressure on 96 psd

newbie here. i have been concerned about my erratic stock oil gauge and put a cheapie mech one in yesterday now i know i have about 13 psi at an idle and it goes down to about 10 when i rev it up. also noticed it has bubbly oil on the stick. its got 305 k on it. motors never been out. any advice? hoping its not too serious? unemployed at this time and its my only set of wheels!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 13 (permalink) Old 04-18-2011, 09:44 PM
PSN Veteran

Re: low oil pressure on 96 psd

Is that the pressure warm or cold? Does it rise at all with RPMs? It almost sounds like you are drawing air into the oil pump pickup, or have a bad low pressure oil pump. Mine has just under 290k miles, and it idles at 50 psi cold, 20 psi hot. Freeway speeds are 90 psi cold, 50 psi hot.

95 F350 CC DRW, ISSPRO Performax gauges, Diamond Eye 3x4" DP & 5" exh, MBRP tip, Baby Swamps & tunes, Trans VB mods, Dunrite TC, Lock-Right, Cal-Tracs
99 Silverado race truck
96 F250 RCLB, bone stock
00 Jetta TDI, Kerma Tunes, Der Chimera Stg 3 clutch
73 & 74 Vega race cars, 92 GMC Typhoon, 73 Chevy Blazer with Pontiac 400, 73 Trans-Am 455
post #3 of 13 (permalink) Old 04-26-2011, 09:02 AM Thread Starter
PSN Newb