how to tell injectors? - PowerStrokeNation : Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 25 (permalink) Old 05-31-2010, 09:52 PM Thread Starter
PSN Local

how to tell injectors?

i bought my truck a few months ago from a guy that had done some aftermarket/performance stuff to it... now keep in mind im a newbie but i do a little bit of studying on these trucks. what my question is, my truck is a late 99, is there any way other than popping the valve covers to see if i have stock injectors or if he had something bigger put in? my reason for asking is im using the superchips cortex tuner that the dealer threw in with the truck. some tunes absolutely dont get along with the truck. right now im on the mileage tune, if i start the truck below 30degrees outside, it pours white smoke and lopes like some of the lope tunes ive seen on here. on a normal day, the damn thing can fill the 4 way stop in my town from one end to the other with black smoke... personally id prefer it didnt, but my fix for that right now is a light foot. we decided to put the tuner on a friends totally stock late 99, absolutely idenctical to mine except longbed. his truck runs just fine on all the tunes, and doesnt smoke too awful bad at all and starts just fine. i want to find out if i have aftermarket injectors before i tear something up by not running a tune written for them. if i have to pop a valve cover i will, great excuse to do a ccv mod anyway.

99.5 f-250 cc 4x4 lariat, 4" turbo back, silverline 6" tip, 3"lift 36" hummer tires. superchips cortex, built tranny, k&n intake tube with oversize filter/sock w/filterminder, WW, banks bighead, tons of chrome.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 25 (permalink) Old 05-31-2010, 10:07 PM
I like turtles

Re: how to tell injectors?