School me on Tuners & Chips - PowerStrokeNation : Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 04-29-2014, 08:07 PM Thread Starter
PSN Newb

School me on Tuners & Chips

I have no experience when it comes to tuners, but looks like I may need to get a crash course due to CO emissions testing. Ive got a 99 model (mfg date 11-98) F350 7.3 PSD auto that I "believe" has a programmed tune. Theres no evidence of a chip, nor switch, nada for me to believe theres a plug in tuner on it. But it runs like a raped ape, & gets really good mileage. My emissions test is tonight (praying for a pass) & Ive put a new Magnaflow 60111 on it, fresh Rotella T6 oil change, air & fuel filters as well. Its still blowing a small amount of black smoke on hard acceleration, but clears pretty quickly. My question is, is there a plug in type tuner out there (that doesnt cost an arm & a leg) that I could buy with a stock tune & 1 or 2 performance driven tunes to change on the fly to get me by without damaging the module or the truck? Or is there a chip that can do the same thing? Im lost here, & have no idea which way to go. Besides move to an area diesel emissions exempt. Help me out Please?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 04-29-2014, 08:16 PM Thread Starter
PSN Newb

Re: School me on Tuners & Chips

I believe my brother in-laws 01 7.3 PSD has a TS 6 position plug in type tuner, ( has a round knob that can be switched on the fly). Would this be a good way to go? If my module has a downloaded-pre set tune already, would I have to get it reflashed to stock before I would install the TS?
post #3 of 8 (permalink) Old 04-29-2014, 08:32 PM
PSN Local

There are about a 1000 post like this under the search platform located up top in the menu bar , or.......hope this helps

Let me google that for you

03 7.3 with the new nose 8" and 37's 124k original and adding slowly

Sold - 00 X, 01 350, 02 350