HELP WITH DP TUNER F5 - PowerStrokeNation : Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 02-20-2009, 11:09 PM Thread Starter
< wish it was mine
 
Stroken7.3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Harrisville UT
Posts: 955
HELP WITH DP TUNER F5

I tried to install my new F5 today and I cannot get it to work. I did the install as per the instructions, tried it twice cleaning the contacts with acetone and the supplied scotchbrite. I'm nervous about taking to much tin off of the contacts, tried to check them with my fingernail and nothing came off. The truck will start and die a minute later the throttle response is very slow and the switcher won't turn on. Need help please, first chip install and I don't want to screw anything up. Also I pulled out my Edge Juice and evolution programmer and set everything back to stock first and it ran fine. The truck runs stock after I gave up and pulled out the F5. Thanks for your help.

2001 F-350, Auto, No Limit Tunes, Autometer Ultra-lite gauges.
Stroken7.3 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 (permalink) Old 02-21-2009, 12:04 AM
PSN Local
 
Adam0331's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Jonestown, PA
Posts: 374
Re: HELP WITH DP TUNER F5

Did you check the connection where the wire goes into the switch?

2003 F350 EC/LB 7.3
Adam0331 is offline  
post #3 of 7 (permalink) Old 02-21-2009, 12:50 AM Thread Starter
< wish it was mine
 
Stroken7.3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Harrisville UT
Posts: 955
Re: HELP WITH DP TUNER F5

Yes I did, but I was wondering if the switcher needs to be unlocked.
pos 0 no start
pos 1 stock
pos 2 1300 high idle
pos 3 60 tow
pos 4 80 tow
pos 5 80 economy
pos 6 120 race
My switcher is also the one that fits in a guage pod.

2001 F-350, Auto, No Limit Tunes, Autometer Ultra-lite gauges.
Stroken7.3 is offline  
 
post #4 of 7 (permalink) Old 02-21-2009, 12:54 AM
This We'll Defend
 
texasmedic01's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Devine, Texas
Posts: 1,549
Send a message via Yahoo to texasmedic01
Re: HELP WITH DP TUNER F5

I had the same problem when I first put mine in. but I had the regular switcher. I placed the USB cord upside down when I installed it on the switcher so it wasnt working. check and see if you didnt make this same mistake. The connections will look like they are together but they really arn't


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.




2010 RACE FOR THE WARRIORS co-founder

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


Thanks everyone for the support!
texasmedic01 is offline  
post #5 of 7 (permalink) Old 02-21-2009, 01:25 AM Thread Starter
< wish it was mine
 
Stroken7.3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Harrisville UT
Posts: 955
Re: HELP WITH DP TUNER F5

I checked that, the plug on the guage only fits one way on mine. I'm thinking it was in the no start position. Dp's website instructions said something about the guage not turning on when it is in that position and you have to press and hold a combination of buttons to activate it. I'll try first thing in the morning I'm frustrated tonight.

2001 F-350, Auto, No Limit Tunes, Autometer Ultra-lite gauges.
Stroken7.3 is offline  
post #6 of 7 (permalink) Old 02-21-2009, 04:18 PM Thread Starter
< wish it was mine
 
Stroken7.3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Harrisville UT
Posts: 955
Re: HELP WITH DP TUNER F5

Got it working, I had to press the button on the switcher to get it out of no start. All I can say about the power is HOLY ###T. Feels like 20 horsepower more in 80 economy than my stacked Edge Juice and Attitude with the evolution set on level 5. I will never run or recomend generic tunes to anyone again, besides I'm into my F5 less than all of my Edge junk.

2001 F-350, Auto, No Limit Tunes, Autometer Ultra-lite gauges.
Stroken7.3 is offline  
post #7 of 7 (permalink) Old 02-21-2009, 04:52 PM
Smarty Power!
 
John_DeereGreen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Athens, OH
Posts: 2,567
Send a message via AIM to John_DeereGreen Send a message via Yahoo to John_DeereGreen
Re: HELP WITH DP TUNER F5

Congrats on the newfound power!!!
Quote:
Originally Posted by duckslayer74 View Post
Feels like 20 horsepower more in 80 economy than my stacked Edge Juice and Attitude with the evolution set on level 5.
Exactly why custom tuning is better for our trucks...

Quote:
Originally Posted by duckslayer74 View Post
besides I'm into my F5 less than all of my Edge junk.
And exactly why again custom tuning is better for your our trucks and wallet...

Jarrett Matthew

04.5 QCSB auto common rail
Smarty TnT; ISSPRO PERFORMAX
Suncoast full billet
John_DeereGreen is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the PowerStrokeNation : Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome