Ford Power Stroke Nation banner

California Emissions legal turbos/exhaust

16K views 68 replies 30 participants last post by  southmike 
#1 ·
So I haven't really been on here for a while. However with the purchase of a new toy I am going to need to bump up the power in my '01 to haul the load. I have been running the earlier TN drop in for a few years and have been happy. I wanted to upgrade to the BB, but of course that really isn't an option. Now with the potential of emissions testing in California even a GTP38r is not a legal option. :mad:

So what turbo options are there that will support towing heavy, with plenty of power, low EGTS, and at least look stock, or have a CARB/EPA cert?

Also since my Magnaflow exhaust is not legal, what exhaust options are there that will support the same and look stock or have a CARB/EPA cert?

Also, I am currently running a 6L CAC, and it works well. I really want to put in a Spearco or DI CAC, but the same emissions questions apply.

I still have my stock turbo, and if I felt the truck had enough power stock I would just go back to completely stock, but I really need more power than stock. Any help would be appreciated, and I would imagine I am not the only one who is going to be in this situation in Cali if the get really aggressive with this emissions testing BS. :(

Thanks

See less See more
#3 ·
I can bet you that not 1 person that will test your truck if/when it happens will know that your turbo is not stock. Plus a Garrett is stock on the PSD so it will pretty much look like a stocker. I have a BB in my EX and I dont care about the testing if it happens. Just put something on there and be happy. They wont know.

But I bet they will raise a stink about an open element air filter. That would be retarded.

#5 ·