Best daily driving mode/setting with Edge evolution II? - PowerStrokeNation : Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 3 (permalink) Old 05-28-2013, 05:49 AM Thread Starter
'02 Crew Cab 7.3

Question Best daily driving mode/setting with Edge evolution II?

Ok so I got my edge evolution II updated and installed in my truck. I am currently using the lowest performance setting "Towing" for daily driving. I have heard some bad things about edge products smoking transmissions.

Now I have a couple of questions. Is it okay to daily drive on the lowest "tow" setting? I am a very conservative driver and I don't race or tow much at all with my truck. I know that sounds contradicting, but I just like having the little extra performance over stock. I just want to make sure the truck isn't trying to increase the tranny in a way to compensate for towing a load when im just cruising, therefore resulting in premature failure of the transmission.

Also, what is everyone else running for your daily driving setting?

Thanks guys.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 3 (permalink) Old 06-05-2013, 09:27 PM
PSN Newb

Re: Best daily driving mode/setting with Edge evolution II?

I have an Evolution CTS on my '01. I put it on about 2 months ago and have had pretty good luck using the "Race" mode as my daily driver setting. It gives me better fuel mileage over stock and I can have plenty of power when I need it. I also don't pull too many loads, but when I do I program it back to "Tow" and get along just fine there.

2001 7.3 F250 4x4
Straight Pipe
S&B Cold Air Intake
EDGE Evolution CTS
97,xxx miles
post #3 of 3 (permalink) Old 06-06-2013, 05:40 PM
PSN Local

Re: Best daily driving mode/setting with Edge evolution II?

from my understanding, edge products do not take your tranny into consideration when trying to increase power, & i know several people who have had to rebuild their trannys in time running generic tunes like edge, superchips, etc....