Wnat some input on ideas - PowerStrokeNation : Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 31 (permalink) Old 01-14-2013, 08:42 PM Thread Starter
PSN Local

Wnat some input on ideas

OK, I've spent some time reading past threads and going over info and learning. I'm still a noob to the 7.3 though, and since my plan may not be exactly typical I wanted some input. I'm thinking of doing things in two distinct phases, but even when its all done it will be a mild buildup. On to the questions...

I'm aware from reading that everyone prefers custom tunes to canned tunes, and that most like the ability to shift tunes on the fly. I'm NOT interested in shifting tunes on the go, and am only planning to run an economy/daily driver type tune in the truck. Would a custom tune really benefit my special circumstance much, and secondly would you still lean more towards a chip without some sort of monitor if you already had an OBD II scan tool like I do ?

My phase I plans are hutch/harpoon,gauges for boost/tranny temp/egt,Tymar,wicked wheel II,muffler delete,BTS valvebody,down pipe,and tuning of some sort. I plan to run like this until I need injectors or a tranny whichever comes first. When that happens I would start my phase II and do a RR, Stage I injector, GTP-38R,complete BTS tranny, and re-tune for the items.

I have race and hot street rides already, so I'm not really looking for a bunch of extra performance. I'm mostly driven by an effort to improve, enjoy some better mileage, but not take away from reliablity, and have fun while keeping it mild and affordable. I'm interested in hearing constructive thoughts from those knowing much more than I do about the platform, thanks in advance !

02 Excursion Limited PMR 7.3 WW2 , 6637, XCal3/EDGE CTS, 4 inch DP/muffler delete exhaust, 5 inch tip, slotted and cross drilled rotors, EBC pads...
90 Mustang Hatch 351/5 spd
91 Mustang GT 306 H/C/I T56 6 spd
92 Mustang SSP 408/Nitrous