chips, tunes, and MPG ... - PowerStrokeNation : Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 01-03-2013, 02:26 AM Thread Starter
PSN Newb

chips, tunes, and MPG ...

please excuse my ignorance but I am new to the PSTD and the 7.3 so I will have a few off the wall questions.

My old Benz diesel pushes some pavement when I punch on it so I expected this 7.3 beast to really bark when it is asked to. Well, it's sluggish but runs great. It's a 2000 with only 110K miles and one owner. I got 20 mpg when bringing it back from SoFla.

After reading all the posts and opines about chips and performance AND the manufacturers claiming to get BETTER mileage with these performance upgrades ... I am skeptical to say the least. Extra performance means more fuel and more air ... always has. How can a set of tunes, an intake mod and exhaust mod increase performance AND mpg?

I would like more response and performance and am willing to pay for it BUT I do not want to loose mpg and reliability either.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 7 (permalink) Old 01-03-2013, 02:48 AM
PSN Veteran

Re: chips, tunes, and MPG ...

Most of the starting mods (intake and exhaust) make for less restriction so the flow of the system is better. Easy in easy out. Second the tunes make the truck run more efficeintly by changing the power curve, shift points, etc.

2001 F250 CCLB, PHP Hydra, 6637, MBRP 4" exhaust and rear air bags

97' F250 ECLB, 7.3, Baby Swamps, Hydra w/swamps tunes, 6637, 3"dp 4" straight, Dana 60, 2.25 PMF RSK, Built Trans & Cooler, DIY efuel
post #3 of 7 (permalink) Old 01-03-2013, 02:51 AM
Old Yeller, REBORN

Your not going to do better than 20mpg. That is a freak thing in my opinion unless your on flat land with a single cab 2wd. Or you have a cummins in it, .