Oil change and upgrade - PowerStrokeNation : Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 27 (permalink) Old 08-22-2007, 04:34 PM Thread Starter
PSN Veteran

Oil change and upgrade

My truck now has 237K on it, but I do not drive it as much since I commute on a motorcycle now. Its primary duty is as a tow rig and bad weather commuter(not too common in sunny SoCal ). I have been running Rotella in it since I got it and have done numerous blackstone reports all with great result. I have been running 5000 mile change intervals for 4 years now.

I always wanted to put in a bypass filter and syn oils, but never really had to time or money. I am planning on doing some PM on the truck in a few weeks and was thinking about this topic again. Now the thing is that even though the yearly mileage is less, its TOUGH work. My hauler is 15K lbs with a lot of wind resistance, and most trips down here are in hot weather. So what advantages would I be seeing if I went with a bypass and syn oil? What are the pros and cons of the different bypasses? What are the pros and cons of the different oils(Amsoil, Shaeffer, redline, etc.)? I can figure the cost aspect so I am more interested in what this would add to the truck as far as protection and performance. I am going to be replacing the stock injectors soon with singles, plus putting in a 6L CAC and bigger exhaust. I want to do what I can to make this engine last to 400K.

Thanks

2001 F350 CC LB 4X4
TN, AIS, DP 80hp, ITP boost elim, Magnaflow 4".
Tows the big white hauler.

When life gives you Lemons, throw them at the stupid people.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 27 (permalink) Old 08-22-2007, 04:37 PM

Re: Oil change and upgrade

a bypass filter will keep the oil clean but it won't keep it from shearing down. That's the bigger problem in a PSD.

I'm not sure a bypass will extend drain intervals long enough to make it worth while.