6.0 Fuel Mileage?? - PowerStrokeNation : Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 09-29-2017, 03:21 AM Thread Starter
PSN Newb

6.0 Fuel Mileage??

First off please correct me if this isnt the desired area to post this discussion in. I am new to Powerstroke nation. Okay a couple weeks ago I bought my first diesel. 2003 ford f-250 xlt cclb. 4" lift with 35" tires. I am very familiar with 6.0s and have worked on them and been researching them for about 3 years before I bought my own. The truck is completely stock other than a bypass coolant filter, very clean and well taken care of. 173,xxx miles. I just hand calculated my MPG today and averaged around 11.5 city/highway combined. I know I can do better than that. The truck has 8 new stock ford injectors installed by a reputable 6.0 mechanic. I am thinking a turboback exhaust and egr delete should bring my mpg up quite a bit (was going to do this anyways). What are some suggestions for getting better fuel economy? Thanks ahead of time
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 7 (permalink) Old 09-29-2017, 01:44 PM
PSN Local

Re: 6.0 Fuel Mileage??

PHP FICM Tune
post #3 of 7 (permalink) Old 10-01-2017, 03:15 AM
PSN Veteran

Garage

^ This. Plus, there is a thread all about MPG....I think it's in the stickies. All sorts of things you can try, but the FICM tune and your driving habits will be the two biggest factors. That is, of course, assuming everything is fine with your truck. A sticking unison ring in the turbo could deteriorate MPG, as could many other things.

2004 Excursion 6.0
New HPOP/HPO system o-rings; Updated standpipes and dummy plugs
EGR delete; Rebuilt oil cooler; CCV collection mod
VR Black Diamond head gaskets and ARP studs
Oil and coolant bypass filters; Shell EC-1 coolant
Rebuilt turbo; 250 amp alt; 6000 watts of brain scrambling
One giant 240 pound English Mastiff riding shotgun!

post #4 of 7 (permalink) Old 10-04-2017, 09:15 PM
PSN Newb