Black smoke - PowerStrokeNation : Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old 10-18-2014, 12:17 PM Thread Starter
PSN Newb

Black smoke

Hi guys I'm new to the diesel world I have a 2005 6.0 lariat. For mode's I have head studs egr delete sinister diesel coolant filter afe dry cold air intake and edge evolution. I hear guys say they blow a lot of black smoke with this programmer on the extreme mode. My truck put's out a little puff of black smoke and is of like a rocket which I love. The question is if my truck doesn't smoke a lot on this tune should I be worried that my fuel pressure isn't putting out the right amount of pressure.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 9 (permalink) Old 10-18-2014, 01:04 PM
PSN Local

Re: Black smoke

another highly recommended tuner would be the SCT. get custom tunes on it and you shouldn't smoke as much.
as far as fuel pressure, get a couple of gauges to know for sure where your truck likes to be at. you cant really judge fuel pressure from amount of coal.
if you are low on pressure then look into the "blue spring" mod.
post #3 of 9 (permalink) Old 10-18-2014, 01:26 PM
JGman141

blowing "lots" of smoke is what's making the government crack down on diesel owners, so the less you do that the better. As far as tuners go you need a sct for the best performance and reliability for the 6.0

2004 6.0 ccsb Warren 430/150 hybrids, Warren Comp Trans, Warren Dual Hpop, Billet S475 w/race cover, Marty's A1000 Fuel System, Colt Stage 2, and all the other supporting stuff
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

post #4 of 9 (permalink) Old 10-18-2014, 01:53 PM Thread Starter
PSN Newb

It only let's out a little puff when I flat foot it until the turbo catches up then goes like hell. My truck doesn't roll cole by any means and don't want it to. Guess I'm not going to worry about it to much it run's awesome all the time.