6.0L first's? - PowerStrokeNation : Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 31 (permalink) Old 06-29-2014, 06:17 PM Thread Starter
PSN Newb

6.0L first's?

Hi all, I am brand new to the Diesel scene but love my truck already. It has a aftermarket intake and dual exhaust.
So after alot of reading through the internet I have seen a ton of ideas of things to add and do. I HATE the horrible turbo lag from the line and want to address that soon, i feel like a sitting duck pulling into traffic sometimes.
So my thoughts are SCT Sf3 and a CTS monitor, what gauges should I monitor the most?
Also going to install a coolant filter myself.
Should I also do a new oil cooler? I know nothing about them just see alot of people doing it.
EGR delete?

What are the main things you would suggest?

Thanks for all you help.
Scott
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 31 (permalink) Old 06-30-2014, 02:06 AM
Big dumb redneck

Garage
Re: 6.0L first's?

Horrible lag probably means the turbo could use a good cleaning. If you don't have to pass emissions, EGR delete definitely. Oil cooler...need a way to monitor your oil/coolant temps (ECT/EOT) to see if your cooler is clogged. That's why you see so many people doing oil coolers...it's not a performance upgrade...the 6.0 likes eating coolers (currently installing my 3rd one on my 05).