To head stud or not.....that is the question - PowerStrokeNation : Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 64 (permalink) Old 03-12-2014, 01:53 AM Thread Starter
PSN Newb

To head stud or not.....that is the question

I am new to psn and please forgive me if I am committing the dreaded "there's already posts about that" mistake...

I recently bought a 2004 f250 6.0. I am a gasser turned dieseler and proud to have made the switch!! My truck is 4x4 bone stock except a manga flow exhaust and upgraded intake. I love the sound of that turbo whistling!! Truck has 90 k miles.

Everyone (especially the local diesel shop) are telling me that I MUST do the egr delete, arp head studs, etc... It will be almost 5k to do all of this but I am told it is only a matter of time until the head studs fail on me. If I don't try to turn the truck into a track star, is this 5k upgrade needed? Granted they are going to give me a custom tune and the truck will be bada$$, I wonder if I might not be better off keeping it stock until problems. I pull my 7k# work trailer DAILY with it so I don't know if the performance is the way to go. I have the 5k ready to spend, but I would rather get some better wheels and tires and maybe a lift with my money...(I'm sorry but I HATE the look of my stock 16" wheels and tires)

Please give your opinions and sorry again if this is a tired subject here......
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 64 (permalink) Old 03-12-2014, 02:22 AM
JGman141

Re: To head stud or not.....that is the question

If I was in your situation I would have the studs and egr delete done, these are reliability mods that help keep the truck on the road. I personally would buy my own sct tuner and get custom tunes from any of the vendors here instead of letting the shop do it.