Slow shift then dies - PowerStrokeNation : Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 05-09-2019, 12:49 PM Thread Starter
PSN Newb

Slow shift then dies

Just this morning i was leaving the house the truck started normally but when i was going up a hill the truck would lose power when it was shifting so it seemed like it was shifting really really late and when i got to the top of the hill the truck completely died, now it just cranks constantly and wont start, i was little under half a tank of diesel. My dad and I just replaced the pickup screen this weekend and the egr cooler is leaking (white smoke on start) im new to diesel so im not sure if it can be the injectors or a ficm? No idea... 04 f250 6.0
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 05-09-2019, 02:06 PM
PSN Veteran

Re: Slow shift then dies

I am not a 6.0 guy but I would not think it is injectors. Maybe the standpipe, the fuel pump or one of many others....there are knowledgeable 6.0 fellas on here i am sure they will help you diagnose your truck.

1996 F350 Crewcab lb 2wd auto, tommylift, now over 451k, 355k 3/31/15

1991 F250 Xtracab lb 2wd auto, sold again! Driveline and chassis is under a '65 F350 cab

1965 F100 styleside, power brakes, front discs, 390 all the goodies
2015 F250 CCSB 2wd gasser auto
2008 Mustang WIP, warriors in pink, wife's
2009 Focus, son's
post #3 of 8 (permalink) Old 05-09-2019, 03:22 PM
EA - Eggfarts Anonymous!

Welcome to the forum!

I wouldn't think it's injectors either. I'd think it would at least fire and run really bad if 1 or even 2 injectors were failing.

First things first, do you have an obd2 scanner or monitor? there's a couple parms that are real real useful like the ICP and IPR, along with FICM logic and FICM main power. This can help the guys tat are smarter than me (lol) determine whether it's a HPO thing, or a FICM thing.