2004 6.0 Rough Acceleration - PowerStrokeNation : Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 01-21-2019, 09:41 PM Thread Starter
PSN Newb

2004 6.0 Rough Acceleration

Hey All,

Complete newbie here (both to the forum and to the diesel market). I am fairly technically inclined, and can hold my own on all of the regular maintenance, and can at least know what I'm talking about and looking at with some more advanced things. To be completely honest, though, I'm still scared sh**less of messing around with the diesel engine too much.

About 15,000 miles ago, I picked up a 2004 F350 with the 6.0 (now with 209,000 miles). It's been an incredible learning experience, and despite all of the problems I've encountered and the money I've put into it, I've loved owning the truck. However, I've come across a bit of a problem that I need to ask your help with...

A little while ago, my truck started doing this weird thing where it will violently shake after shifting and trying to accelerate in the range of about 45 to 55 MPH. When I let the truck shift down, and have the RPM drop slightly, the truck will very violently shake when I hit the accelerator after. If I really push it to the floor, it will hesitantly kick the RPMs high and it won't happen. Oddly enough, if I put the truck into Tow/Haul mode around 45 MPH when it starts to happen, it will be perfectly fine. If I try to put it into Tow/Haul around 55 MPH when it happens, it will still happen as "normally."