Total Newbie Question - Cold weather. - PowerStrokeNation : Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
 2Likes
  • 2 Post By 007matman

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old 11-16-2018, 02:02 AM Thread Starter
PSN Local

Total Newbie Question - Cold weather.

So... It's my first winter owning a Diesel truck.

What's the deal with Anti-Gel?

I live in North Georgia and in this area we do get some coldish weather (single digits are possible on the rare occasion). However, most of the time we see low temps hovering around the 30's.

I am planning on heading up North here in a few weeks.. they're having highs in the single digits and lows well below zero.

I see some posts online that indicate that the Anti-Gel is needed, others that indicate that it is already in the fuel. Some say there is always a sign indicating what temp the fuel so safe to use down to. I've never seen one of these signs.

Which is it? How do I know? Should I use it?

How do you all measure the appropriate amount? Smallest jug I could find was 64 oz and would treat 300gal. I have a 30gal tank.

Sorry for my long post.

Sent from my Pixel 2 XL using Tapatalk
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 9 (permalink) Old 11-16-2018, 08:57 AM
alleged moderator

Re: Total Newbie Question - Cold weather.

here in the northeast they start selling winter blend fuel around end of october.(allegedly)
in 45 years of running diesels, i have only had one gel up on me, and that was back in 79.
if you want to run 1/2 bottle of diesel fuel conditioner in each tank for piece of mind, it will not hurt it. if you buy that 64 ounce bottle of anti gel, just add 6 ounces per tank when you fill up and you will be safe to around 20 or 30 below zero.

tom
owner of almost to many fords.

If you want the moral high ground, make sure you're not standing on a hill of horsecrap.
post #3 of 9 (permalink) Old 11-16-2018, 09:23 AM
PSN intsigator